Today is part 1 of a two day part gig at my institution of higher learning at Republic Polytechnic. Today’s expected crowd was expected to be small due to the wet weather, the low key appreciation for underground bands and rather go day 2 which has Plainsunset and Electrico and the fact that NOBODY DOES GIG’S ON FUCKING FRIDAY NIGHT. And yes this would be a 1st for me.

When, I heard Allura was performing, it is one act I will not missed. Furthermore, they are the kickstarters being the 1st band to perform officially on the awesome stage RP has made. (cheers and props to STA students!).

Hell yeah Allura kicked ass and they played Ladeda the free song u can get from the LIME mag a few months ago where they give a cd with a bunch of highly potential Singapore artistes. Seems like the scene is getting bigger and definitely better

Little did I expect that after their 30-minute gig, me and my buddies would be a “groupie” and asked to take photos with us. We did being unashamed (well you should know me by now!), we asked and they gave a +ve receptive response. We took a pic or two (a second pic doesn’t hurt) and here it is:

yeah dudes Inch, the lead gal singer is hotness in shortness. (thus the name, Inch?)

Allura seems to be pretty normal people, the dudes smoke and kinda friendly and shook hands instantaneously without prompting (even Inch!). I got into a convo with the drummer, second from the left, and talked about gig locations and recordings which is kinda cool from one drummer to another and he’s good (double bass drums is synchronized and harmonious).

We then dispersed, but it was not for long before Inch saw me and the dudes dancing to a “September” by Earth, Wind and Fire which Ruth Ling was covering at that moment. She joined in for a moment as you know how crazy we are. We had an awesome chat and smoke break from these guys and hell yeah I would buy their cd to see the credibility of the drummer’s assurance of “good quality recording” and also checking out the new singles. (btw Isa was busy with the bassist the dude on his right while Shafiq was sweating bullets).

Check it all out at my facebook account for the full photo album @ http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=46349&l=47bb7&id=716847244

Well this is part one of 2 (hopefully..) of the gig and I hope to attend tmrw’s which would have the main highlights performing.

Watch out Amanda Ling of Electrico, our guy “groupie” is aiming at you next! You won’t be bored when you play your keyboard (dun worry we’re kinda harmless or else how did I write this post?)